Rudolf Steiner House

Winter / Spring Events

January - April 2017


'Sea and Sardinia'

Novafonic Quartet with Simeone Latini - narrator/director

Fabio Furia - bandoneon/composer, Gianmaria Melis - violin, Marcello Melis - piano, Giovanni Chiaramonte - double bass

Inspired by the travel book Sea and Sardinia, written in 1921 by the English author D.H. Lawrence, this theatrical performance is a journey through the essence of an island and its people, still recognisable today. A tribute to an ancient and fascinating land made of music, words and images. The perfect balance of different elements, giving the clearest portrait possible of an unforgettable experience, almost one hundred years ago, as if it was yesterday.

Original music composed by Fabio Furia. Directed by Simeone Latini. Videos by Luca Sgualdini.

14th January

7.30pm    Full price: £20, £18, £15 - Concessions: £16, £14, £12

'The Virtuoso Violin'

Ayako Yoshida - violin, Louis Demetrius Alvanis - piano

Chaconne from Partita No. 2 in D minor for Solo Violin, BWV 1004 - Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 7 in C minor, Op. 30 No. 2 - Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827).

Ulterior Motives for Violin and Piano - Adonis Alvanis (b. 1965). Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 in C Sharp Minor, S. 244 - Franz Liszt (1811-1886). Arr. A. Alvanis. Arranged for Violin and Piano.

29th January

4pm    Full price: £20, £18, £15 - Concessions: £16, £14, £12

Viola & Piano Recital

Rivka Golani - viola, Michael Hampton - piano

BRUCH Kol Nidrei. SHOSTAKOVICH Sonata for Viola and Piano Op.147.

Gregers BRINCH 'Celebration for Solo Viola' Op. 119, No. 2. BRAHMS Sonata No.1 in F minor for Viola and Piano, Op.120.

25th February

7.30pm    Full price: £20, £18, £15 - Concessions: £16, £14, £12

Man and the Muses

Performed by Ryan Kouroukis
An Ancient Greek programme on Wisdom, Beauty, Suffering, Gods and Goddesses. From original ancient sources.

4th March

7.30pm    £10 (£8 concessions)

'Months in the Country'

Chopin with George Sand at Nohant 1839-1846

Rose Cholmondeley - piano, Charles Grant - narrator
Ballade No.3 in Ab, Op47. Prelude in C# minor, Op45. Nocturne in C minor, Op48 No 2. Polonaise in Ab, Op53. Scherzo No4 in E, Op54. Berceuse in Db, Op57. Waltzes Nos 1 in Db & 2 in C# minor, Op64. Barcarolle in F#, Op61.

18th March

7.30pm    Full price: £20, £18, £15 - Concessions: £16, £14, £12